Cécile ‘Colleen’ Schott is in the prime of her life.

The French composer has been releasing records for over 10 years, including the classic The Golden Morning Breaks and Les Ondes Silencieuses. Her recent work, however, has arguably been her best. 2013’s The Weighing of the Heart, the first Colleen record to put her vocals centre-stage, was described by FACT’s John Twells as “40 minutes of economic, uncluttered and most importantly unique music”, while this year’s Captain of None is perhaps her most ambitious record to date: an ode to dub-reggae that’s more bass and vocal-driven than her previous work.

Colleen’s FACT mix is a companion piece of sorts to Captain of None, and focuses on music that “has specifically influenced” the album, “mostly from the point of view of song-writing, interpretation, production, or just a general “feel” in the music, for lack of a better word.”

Burning Spear – Door Peeper
Scientist – Dangerous Match 1
Tapper Zukie – Simpleton Badness
Ras Michael and the Sons of Negus – Long Time Ago
Noel Ellis – Reach My Destiny
Augustus Pablo – Pablo In Fine Style
King Burnett – Paul Bogle
Niney And Observer All Stars – Weeping Lotion
Collins Music Wheelers – Collins Sweat
Wackies Rhythm Force – Black Africa
Prince Far I – Plant Up
Tapper Zukie – Man Ah Warrior
Little Madness – Mother Country Version
The Gladiators – Bongo Red
Black Kush – Natural Rock
The Upsetters – Return Of The Super Ape