Buck 65 with Symphony Nova Scotia

More Hip-Hop shows need to f*ck with live instrumentation. Track listings below. Link

Stream entire show

“It was something that could only happen in Halifax” says Halifax Chronicle Herald critic Stephen Pedersen. That’s because Symphony Nova Scotia is an unusually versatile first class chamber symphony orchestra, Buck 65 is a truly imaginative and creative poet and hip hop artist, and conductor/composer Dinuk Wijeratne has the imagination and skill to pull it all together – a combination of talents and attitude that you don’t often find.

The night featured arrangements of Buck 65’s hits like “Way Back When” and “Cries a Girl”, but also a CBC commission of a brand new work by Dinuk Wijeratne – a triple concerto for Cellist (Norman Adams), turntable artist Buck 65 and percussionist Terry O’Mahoney.

01. [applause & presentation] 0:20
02. Surrender to Strangeness 7:09
03. Roses and Bluejays 5:06
04. Cries a Girl 5:28
05. All There is to Say About Love 4:57
06. Feels Like 7:37
07. Hymnpeace 16:11
08. Misdeed 5:22
09. The Floor 6:08
10. Heather Knights 3:54
11. Devil’s Eyes 4:33
12. Way Back When 5:24