Qwel & Meaty Ogre - Freezerburner Album Cover

Due out October 31st but worked on for years it seems like, here’s the new album from Galapagos4 artists Qwel and Meaty Ogre. The first installment in this series called The Harvest was dope so I’m definitely going to check this out. Be sure to peep the snippets. Link

Qwel & Meaty Ogre – I Forgive ‘Em (snippet)
Qwel & Meaty Ogre – Machinegun Monkey (snippet)
Qwel & Meaty Ogre – Saved (snippet)
Qwel & Meaty Ogre – High Tithe (snippet)

Ever since Qwel and Meaty Ogre first collaborated on 2000’s “The Manhattan Project” on the Typical Cats LP, heads have taken serious notice. The “Freezerburner” project has been in the minds of these two artists since they first worked together, and now it will finally see the light of day. Those familiar with the project know that it is well worth the wait.

This album marks the 2nd installment in Qwel’s “Four Seasons” series, the first of which was the highly acclaimed “The Harvest” with producer Maker (Glue). This, the winter war horse LP, is slightly darker than The Harvest, just as winter is darker than the fall. Qwel and Meaty Ogre have captured the feeling of winter, the feeling of being isolated and trapped with only your thoughts with the “Freezerburner”. Qwel continues to break down controversial issues on tracks like “Saved” and “Machinegun Monkey”, and brings back some of the crushing braggadocio style that helped make his name known on tracks like “Id Glue” and “Who’s the Boogieman?”

Meaty Ogre has garnered critical success from his LP “Leo vs. Pisces” (Galapagos4, 2003) as well as his productions on releases by Typical Cats, Robust, Offwhyte, Mestizo, Sage Francis & more. He is also a well-known Chicago record collector and has produced several sought-after instrumental 7inch releases on labels like Memphix & Heardrums. With Qwel’s master wordsmith skills and delivery he shows us with the “Freezerburner” that his abilities are only expanding. Meaty Ogre strings together beats that fit the album’s theme while keeping them banging. This album has a range, balance, and coherency between darkness and hope that only Qwel and Meaty Ogre could deliver.

1. Wintro/Who’s The Boogieman?
2. Id Glue
3. I Forgive ‘Em
4. Read Writer
5. Saved
6. Fallen Rome
7. The Cyclops
8. Winterlude
9. Machinegun Monkey
10. Cabin Fever
11. Don Quixote
12. High Tithe
13. The Fourth Reich Of The Rich
14. Elijah The Prophet
15. Practice For Hope
16. Asceticism